The Power of… No Ads!

So a few years ago when I stopped hosting my website on a virtual server and moved it to this WordPress.com blog, I wrote WordPress.com an email with some feedback about their packages and plans. At the time, there just wasn’t any value in their offerings for someone like me. Why would I spend $20 USD just to remove ads on a blog when I could spend $35 USD for a whole web sever VM that could host almost anything, including a blog that uses the WordPress software. They were nice enough to reply and thank me for my feedback. And now, years later it seems they may have taken my feedback to heart, as their new Personal Plan is pretty close to what I suggested.

WordPress.com plans, showing discounted upgrades for Personal Plan subscribers.

Consequently, I have rewarded them (and you!) by subscribing to their Personal Plan!

Basically, all I really need on this site is the following:

  • The convenient online tools for managing and creating posts/pages.
  • A modest amount of storage for media files.
  • No advertisements.
  • A custom domain name.

And that just so happens to be everything that is now included in their new Personal Plan and it also happens to be pretty much exactly what I suggested they could do for a personal plan. Cool. It sure beats the options that they used to offer, because for $45 CAD (at today’s exchange rate) it’s only $20 more than what I was paying previously for my .ca domain name alone.

I haven’t decided if I am going to make a new domain name for the site or if I am going to keep beating my head against the wall to rescue tpot.ca from the evil overlords at that company who shall no longer be named. I may just go with eatingbugsinthegrass.com and be done with it. You know, something short and cool like that. But, that’s for another day.

So, enjoy an ad free experience here on my blog, thanks entirely to me and my $45! 🙂

– Rob.

Ps. I actually don’t have a problem with tasteful advertising that is a genuine benefit to both the client and the consumer. Much of my life has been paid for with the advertising dollars that paid my mom’s wages in her decades of work at the Pacific Press (now the Post Media Network). Similarly, my best friend’s mom ran a small news paper until she retired and I was lucky enough to go there and experience first hand the effort that goes into matching the client’s needs with the readership, the timing, the placement, the message, the graphics, and so on. It’s a lot of genuine work and when it’s done properly it also genuinely benefits both the client and the consumer. However, there so much garbage “advertising” on the Internet that is just plain abusive, to both the clients and the consumers. From banners ads that have absolutely no product information whatsoever (yet you can bet your ass that the client paid good money for it nonetheless) to video ads that chew away at people’s increasingly data-capped network connections, the state of online advertising is a very sad, sad story for everyone involved (aside from those who are getting rich by abusing the system, of course). Anyhow, I digress (or as my kids would say, ” *facepalm* … Daddy!”).