Legend of Hondo is Playable Solo Again

I took a bit of break from working on RocketTux to bring to Legend of Hondo back to a point where it was playable as a solo experience again. When I started LoH, before the project even had a name, that was really the whole point of the excerise, to make a SWG based … thing I could do when I felt like it. Later I sort of branched out into making “systems” that might be useful to others as well as myself, which prompted me to try and organize the Legend of Hondo repo in such a way that my mods could be more easily visualized or consumed. That ideal was what prompted me to restart Legend of Hondo again in 2016, putting it into a state where it really wasn’t playable solo (without making up for the lack of other players by using an admin account to do various fundamental things).

Given that I just don’t have the time nor do I have the inclination to constantly revisit content that I have already completed for my project, because the upstream folks felt the need to change fundamental aspects of their project, I locked the version of SWGEmu that Legend of Hondo is based on last fall. Then I took a break from working on it from December 2016 to July 2017, in part because I wasn’t able to sit down and have any fun with it when I felt like it. And so I ended my break by rolling through a raft of mods that brought Legend of Hondo to a state where one can sit down and successfully do everything other than use the Pirate System that I have yet to fully design and implement.

The point form feature notes can be read on GitHub here and the commit history (which I am no longer “squishing”) details each mod as I made them (and each patch/fix as I made them as well).

Some of the highlights are…

– Previously, I rebuilt the Skill Tree, removed/modified some professions, and added the Pirate progression trees. This patch ensures that one can use all of it up to Pirate 4xxx (the Bounty Hunter line) without needing to use an admin account to unblock anything (such as, needing Pistol XP, but not having access to a pistol to earn that kind of XP, etc). The only big thing that is missing are the crafted decorations that were made by the Architect profession, but they will return later as things one can buy from merchants (or loot while pirating).
– My version of the Mos Espa city layout, using the Hondo Housing System, is complete. I haven’t gotten moving some NPCs around and populating the new areas though.
– Resource collection got configured for the single player, “no need to run the server 24/7” concept, by making gathering more active and using BazaarBot to fill in the gaps.
– The Hondo Merchant System has returned, with a few merchants who sell important items and a couple who require standing with Jabba the Hutt. Eventually, there will many more (as they are the primary “credit sink” in the game).

Down the road I will hopefully find the time to make the quests, systems, and content that make up the Pirate progression system, but at this point I am not in any hurry to do so. At least as it stands right now, that’s basically “all” that’s left for me to do – the rest of the game is functionally complete (unforeseen bugs/consequences aside). As such, this will probably be the last update for Legend of Hondo in 2017, while I focus my efforts on completing RocketTux.

See the main Legend of Hondo page on this site or the README file on GitHub for more information on how one can play the game (it’s not easy to setup and, no, I won’t help you with it or do it for you, sorry).