The $20 Christmas Giving Challenge!

It’s the most wonderful time of year and all that, so this year I decided I would do something new to celebrate in the spirit of the season: I’m going to donate $5 to four charitable or volunteer organizations! 

Sure, $5 isn’t much money, but that’s where the challenge part comes into play – if everyone who has $20 to spare this season did the same thing, then thousands of helpful organizations would get a welcome boost to their operating funds.

Even if you don’t have any money to give, your local food bank will always welcome any canned goods you could spare, the Salvation Army will always accept clothing that is in good repair (especially for children), and most hospitals will be happy to take a donation of blood (and stick you with a free flu shot on your way out, here in Canada). Even sparing just a little bit of your time to listen to a fellow human, when they need an open ear, is always a gift worth giving.

This year I have chosen to send my donations to the Toronto Children’s Hospital / Sick Kids FoundationGleaners Food BankWikipedia, and the Linux Mint project. Where will your Christmas Giving Challenge dollars go this holiday season?

Merry Christmas!

PS. While I don’t personally observe or participate in any religion, I do follow in my family’s long tradition of celebrating family and community in the general Christian manner during the Christmas season. It’s as good a time as any for friends and family to cherish their time together and to share and build their own traditions… Happy Holidays!

