Dev Blog – Major Milestones, New Character Models, and More!

I guess the reality is that if I am typing something for my website site, then I am not working on the game! As such, the only updates I have shared in a while have been some quick posts on Facebook, usually showing off a screenshot of some sort of nerdity.

Today, I don’t have a lot of time to write this post, but I thought it would be nice to share that I have completed the layout of the terrain and road system for the two largest areas of the game. I’ve also finalized the player models, added a seventh shape at the request of my kids (it’s a slow, easy to drive car), made a ski jump, significantly improved my python code structure, made the saving/loading of player stats work again (though it still doesn’t really save/load anything useful), added a screenshot system, started on the special models that represent the Fountain Puzzles, and a whole whack of other things! Many hours pla… I mean “QA testing”, learning, and iterating as well.

With that in mind, I’ll take a few minutes today to share some captioned screenshots of some of what I have been working.

Bottom: First revamp. Top: Total remake.

Bottom: First revamp. Top: Total remake.

Thinking... :)

Thinking… 🙂

Made me a skybox.

Made me a skybox.

And here it is!

And here it is!

The set of road parts that I created to the road system.

The set of road parts that I created to the road system.

Testing to determine why the character would get stuck on 90 degree walls.

Testing to determine why the character would get stuck on 90 degree walls.

Turns out it was caused by hitbox behind inside the wheelbase. The wheel would get caught on the other side of the wall.

Turns out it was caused by hitbox behind inside the wheelbase. The wheel would get caught on the other side of the wall.

After trying several hit boxes, this convexed hull performed the best.

After trying several hit boxes, this convexed hull performed the best.

Many physics tests went into production of this shape. It almost never fails a physics check, even at crazy high speed.

Many physics tests went into production of this shape. It almost never fails a physics check, even at crazy high speed.

Something is on Tux's mind! :)

Something is on Tux’s mind! 🙂

Remember those ball popping toys on wheels, with a handle that we had as kids? I made a room like that, "just because". I'll optimize it and give it a purpose later.

Remember those ball popping toys on wheels, with a handle that we had as kids? I made a room like that, “just because”. I’ll optimize it and give it a purpose later.

Castle inspired by one my kids and I made a few years ago out of paper mache.

Castle inspired by one my kids and I made a few years ago out of paper mache.

Screenshot at 2016-02-12 15:59:27

Screenshot at 2016-02-12 17:33:49

CN Tower will be one of the fountain puzzle land marks.

CN Tower will be one of the fountain puzzle land marks.

Making low polygon things in Blender is a lot of fun!

Making low polygon things in Blender is a lot of fun!

Tada! Still was not finished being OCD about its scale and proportions.

Tada! Still was not finished being OCD about its scale and proportions.

Can't have the CN Tower without also having the Skydome!

Can’t have the CN Tower without also having the Skydome!

This proved to be tricky to make look right, despite it's simple looking shape...

This proved to be tricky to make look right, despite it’s simple looking shape…

Not perfect, but you get the idea!

Not perfect, but you get the idea!

Besides, this is how all of the fountains will be textured! lol...

Besides, this is how all of the fountains will be textured! lol…

Chalet style building.

Chalet style building.

There are probably better ways to make models than by placing individual vertices, but... meh, this is "my speed".

There are probably better ways to make models than by placing individual vertices, but… meh, this is “my speed”.

Screenshot at 2016-02-13 14:06:11

I think this is the final model. I may have further scaled down the door later...

I think this is the final model. I may have further scaled down the door later…

From blank slate to....

From blank slate to….

Screenshot at 2016-02-14 17:40:20

Screenshot at 2016-02-14 18:57:05

Screenshot at 2016-02-15 01:42:02

Downhill run, "hill climb", and ski jump! This isn't the final iteration, but it is complete now.

Downhill run, “hill climb”, and ski jump! This isn’t the final iteration, but it is complete now.

Making the muscle car way better!

Making the muscle car way better!

And adding simple paint jobs.

And adding simple paint jobs.

Screenshot at 2016-02-16 21:45:13

The girls (my kids) said this guy was too hard to see, so that's what started my painting.

The girls (my kids) said this guy was too hard to see, so that’s what started my painting.

Further improved the default shape. Hard to believe that year ago he was little more than a green blob! lol...

Further improved the default shape. Hard to believe that year ago he was little more than a green blob! lol…

Tada! Big o'l pod racer / radial engine style nacelles.

Tada! Big o’l pod racer / radial engine style nacelles.

Starting a remake for shape 4.

Starting a remake for shape 4.

A cross between the Avro Arrow and a Z-95 (Star Wars).

A cross between the Avro Arrow and a Z-95 (Star Wars).

This was a fun challenge. Again, there are probably easier ways to model.

This was a fun challenge. Again, there are probably easier ways to model.

Screenshot at 2016-02-17 02:12:40

So sleek!

So sleek!

Screenshot at 2016-02-17 02:55:46

I was getting pretty excited (and exhausted) by this point.

I was getting pretty excited (and exhausted) by this point.

Screenshot at 2016-02-17 04:40:45

Done!

Done!

Shapes, shapes, everywhere are shapes!

Shapes, shapes, everywhere are shapes!

Screenshot at 2016-02-17 06:23:02

I've since cleaned up the bottom, rear of the model.

I’ve since cleaned up the bottom, rear of the model.

Screenshot at 2016-02-20 23:24:47

Looking neat

Looking neat

I was going for something British, cartoony... Shelby-but-not looking...

I was going for something British, cartoony… Shelby-but-not looking…

Screenshot at 2016-02-21 23:50:56

Almost right....

Almost right….

Back

Back

And here are all the "shapes" that Loop Dipole (the player/character) in the game can take. Each has different handling, abilities, functions, etc.

And here are all the “shapes” that Loop Dipole (the player/character) in the game can take. Each has different handling, abilities, functions, etc.

