Giving Guild Wars 2 a Fair Shake

It’s funny, my wife gave me Guild Wars 2 for Christmas in 2012 (because I totally asked her for it lol…) and I’ve barely played it since then. I had watched some videos of it prior to launch and I was extremely impressed with world design, the skill system being based on weapon type and being under water or on land… It look to me, back in summer 2012, that it Guild Wars 2 was going to be an amazing game. Yet… I didn’t buy it and I haven’t played it much since I did get it. Why would I do that?

The Gamebox Lotto

Purchasing a game without first being able to play it, to know if you’re going to like it or not, is what I refer to as the “gamebox lotto”. After several past experiences with buying games that I didn’t end up playing for more than a few minutes, I was reluctant to buy Guild Wars 2. I don’t have a lot of disposable income to waste on these sorts of things and I had already spent what I felt was my fair share of “just for fun” money on Planetside 2. I’d never played the original Guild Wars, which meant I didn’t have anything invested in the franchise, dollars or emotions, so combined with the gamebox lotto and how I was already caught up in Planetside 2, I took a pass on Guild Wars 2.

By the time Christmas 2012 rolled around and Planetside 2 had launched, it was pretty clear that PS2 was a buggy mess by SOE that was probably never going to get any better. I still played a heck of a lot of PS2 on a few occasions in 2013 and 2014, but ultimately I was right and PS2 wasn’t worth my time. Furthermore, my interest in Star Wars Galaxies had finally wained and I was looking for something new and interesting to “get into”. Guild Wars 2, with its living world, excellent crafting system, and very nifty system that levels players down so that all areas of the game remain useful, sure looked like it would be great for me.

Well, it turns out that I was right, only it took me a couple of years to realize it!

I played GW2 a few times, but until recently I never gave it “a fair shake”. Over the years I ended up re-rolling my characters to change to a server where a friend of mine played and after doing so two or three times, I was left with an account that had never seen a character above level 25. That’s a real bummer and a good indication on how little of Guild Wars 2 I had actually seen. Now my friend no longer plays, but he did give me 10 gold that I still have it kicking around, so that’s something. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyhow, I’ve decided to give Guild Wars 2 the “fair shake” it deserves, because it’s beautiful game in so many ways. I look forward to leveling up my Silvari Guardian and Human Elementalist in perpetration for the recently announced expansion pack.

And who knows, I may make a post or two about my experiences here. Though keep in mind that I am splitting my “spare time” between making Loop Dipole and the Chaoties and playing Guild Wars, pretty much exclusively until winter goes away and we make our garden again. Snow be gone! ๐Ÿ™‚