2015 Post Archive

My Games
Loop Dipole and the Chaoties
Rescue Girlies

Computers and Technology
GNU/Linux

Games I Play
Guild Wars 2
Torchlight II
Star Wars Galaxies
Other Games

Everything Else
Blender 3D Game Engine
Graphic Design
Music Creation
Music Creation


Loop Dipole and the Chaoties

  • I’ve Taken a Long Break! (5/27/2015) - I tend to be obsessive about projects I am working, which makes working on something like Loop Dipole and the Chaoties the opposite of what I am good at in a way. Without distractions, I can toss concepts, variables, and whatnot up into the air and juggle them until I collapse from exhaustion . I […]
  • Growing Pains, Blender Issues, and Stuff Magically Working (2/24/2015) - I don’t know how game development is for anyone else, but in my experience there is always some inexplicable problem that magically resolves itself or mysteriously arises from the mist. One such issue I had since moving my Loop Dipole project to Blender Game Engine from SupertuxKart is extremely inconsistent collision detection on terrain. I […]
  • Foley – It’s a Profession for a Reason! (2/14/2015) - Foley, for those who don’t know, is the name given to process of creating the sound effects that make up the “soundscape” for movies and television. Not exactly the same thing as creating sound effects for games, but the principles are similar. “Ah, how hard could it be to make some sounds, Rob?!”, you say. […]
  • Creating the Toolbar with GIMP (2/1/2015) - I guess I have been using GIMP for… wow, well over a decade now. I’m old. So, I comfortable with its interface and familiar with how to use many of its features and tools. And I could say the exact opposite Inkscape and other vector drawing programs. So even though I am sure it would […]
  • Dev: Seamless World Proof of Concept (1/29/2015) - So, I had a dream a few years ago now, to make a racing/flying game with puzzles and stuff that takes place on the outside of a single piece of geometry (you know, like how we live on the surface of Earth). However, that sort of thing is easier said than done in every game […]
  • Dev: Python + Blender GE is a Great Time! (1/28/2015) - This is what I wanted from game development! Honestly, as I have said before a few times, I couldn’t give a rat’s ass about where a computer puts its pointers or memory locations, etc. This isn’t the 1960s… computer’s these days can do that sort of… COMPUTING way more efficiently than we human beings, so […]
  • Design – Blender Game Engine is Awesome! (1/21/2015) - One of the things that I really liked when I started working with SuperTuxKart to create my game Loop Dipole and the Chaoties, was that STK uses Blender for all of its level and character (kart) development. Blender was a program I had heard about, “something, something, it’s pretty popular, etc.” and I was pretty […]
  • Design – Why I chose SuperTuxKart to use as a “Game Engine” (1/4/2015) - “Game Engine” is a term that’s thrown around a lot these days, but at the end of the day what’s important is that, whatever it may actually be, it is used as a tool to create a game. Strictly speaking, the technical term for what I am doing with SuperTuxKart is “Total Conversion Mod”, which basically […]
  • Design – Original Concept Overview (1/3/2015) - I figured it might be helpful to share how I went/go about designing “Loop Dipole and the Chaoties”, so I’ll be posting and updating my design documents here. Feel free to use them as an example of how one can organize or “put their ideas down on paper” when making your games or projects. I […]
  • Design – The Ending (1/3/2015) - I figured it might be helpful to share how I went/go about designing “Loop Dipole and the Chaoties”, so I’ll be posting and updating my design documents here. Feel free to use them as an example of how one can organize or “put their ideas down on paper” when making your games or projects. I […]
  • Design – Fountain Puzzles (1/3/2015) - I figured it might be helpful to share how I went/go about designing “Loop Dipole and the Chaoties”, so I’ll be posting and updating my design documents here. Feel free to use them as an example of how one can organize or “put their ideas down on paper” when making your games or projects. I […]
  • Design – Character Customization (1/3/2015) - I figured it might be helpful to share how I went/go about designing “Loop Dipole and the Chaoties”, so I’ll be posting and updating my design documents here. Feel free to use them as an example of how one can organize or “put their ideas down on paper” when making your games or projects. I […]
  • My New Project – Loop Dipole and the Chaoties (1/3/2015) - I am starting a new long term project and I figured now would be a great time to organize myself a little better! So here I am making a post about it and learning how to better use the Git version control system. Lord knows the 53 zip files and 900MB of storage space that […]

Rescue Girlies


GNU/Linux


Guild Wars 2

  • ArenaNet – Let me help you spend my money! (12/12/2015) - The following is a positive, sincere account of how I have spent money on MMOs in the past and what I personally find valuable in Guild Wars 2. My intent is to help ArenaNet (makers of Guild Wars 2) make money from gem sales and expansions, by telling them explicitly what I WILL purchase (not […]
  • $70 Canadian is too much for an expansion pack to an MMO Game (12/1/2015) - It really is. In the past I have spent many hours on the forums of Star Wars Galaxies, Planetside, and other games that I have played, but for some reason I never really felt compelled to take part in the Guild Wars 2 forum. Today, that changed. At least for one post. I thought long […]
  • Giving Guild Wars 2 a Fair Shake (3/13/2015) - It’s funny, my wife gave me Guild Wars 2 for Christmas in 2012 (because I totally asked her for it lol…) and I’ve barely played it since then. I had watched some videos of it prior to launch and I was extremely impressed with world design, the skill system being based on weapon type and […]

Torchlight II

  • Torchlight II Mod – SuperCombiner (1/3/2015) - Download Update 2016.03.08: The download link works again! I had totally forgotten to update when I got rid of Microsoft/OneDrive. The link takes you my tpot folder on MEGA, where you will find the mod in the Torchlight2 folder. Why I Created SuperCombiner Given that it had been about a decade since I had last […]

Star Wars Galaxies

Other Games


Blender 3D Game Engine

Graphic Design

  • Creating the Toolbar with GIMP (2/1/2015) - I guess I have been using GIMP for… wow, well over a decade now. I’m old. So, I comfortable with its interface and familiar with how to use many of its features and tools. And I could say the exact opposite Inkscape and other vector drawing programs. So even though I am sure it would […]

Music Creation

General Geekery

  • Chromebook: Hmmm…. x86 or ARM CPU? (11/5/2015) - I’m just going to get this out of the way before I start going on about stuff that the majority of humanity couldn’t care less about… CPU doesn’t matter! Buy the Chromebook that you physically like the best. There ya go folks. You’re welcome. Now, if you’re interested in how I came to this conclusion, […]
  • Macbook? Chromebook? Notebook? What’s best for me? (10/28/2015) - If you’re anything like me, you’re sitting there reading this on a 2007 era notebook running a dual boot of Windows Vista and a Linux distro of some kind. Maybe the hinge is loose, perhaps you’ve already upgraded the CPU and RAM, and I am willing to bet that the battery in your old notebook […]
  • Blackberry OS Version 10.3.2.2252 Brings BB10 back to Awesome Status (8/11/2015) - As I posted a few months ago, I was not happy with the direction Blackberry was headed with their Blackberry 10 operating system as of version 10.3. Apart from the fact it was buggy as hell, a first in my personal experience with Blackberry, it also had many UI changes that made the end user […]
  • CPU Prices are Up Considerably in 2015 (8/6/2015) - Update: The Canadian dollar has really tanked in the past few years, falling from parity with the US dollar to being $0.70 USD. I am sure this does not help the situation, but it does not entirely explain the rise in computer prices. Geek that I am, I like to occasionally keep tabs on CPU, […]
  • CIRA Members Beware – Gandi.net Is Nothing But “Bullshit” (8/4/2015) - Seriously, I wish I never chose to do business with this company. It’s been nothing but “bullshit” at every turn. 1. They stole my tpot.ca domain name. Back in 2013 I transfered tpot.ca away from Netfirms to Gandi.net. During the transfer, Gandi created some convoluted account bullshit that they call “handles” and proceeded to tie […]
  • Bye Bye Blackberry, Hello Android, I Think I’m Gonna Cry… (5/26/2015) - It’s been about a month now since I put down my Blackberry Q10 and started using a Motorola Moto E. This was a difficult change for me to make, so let me explain a little about why I chose Blackberry and what made me eventually leave it. Somewhere around five or six years ago I […]
  • Smartphones and the Blight of the Boring Rectangle (4/17/2015) - After not being impressed by the direction Blackberry (formerly Research in Motion) has taken with its 10.3 update to its Blackberry 10 operating system, I decided that it was time to take a longer look at what else is out there. What I found was an incredible lack of diversity in hardware designs across all […]

